Lords of the Fallen Review kukugames

  •  Genre: RPG
  • single player
  • Games from the same developer: Sniper, Blood Knights
  • Offer: Namco



unnatural movement of characters in cinematics
low quality fantasy atmosphere and story
lip synchronization is very bad
unconvincing dialogues


stages with many paths
interesting for multiple playthroughs
worth going back to previeous areas for exploration
if we lose, restarting is very fast
weapon variety
world divided into areas but loading is fast
game structure motivate as for 100% completion
class building tool allows us interesting combinations
play style and upgrades are not limited from our class
like Dark Souls only with pause option


effective handling
exploration and gameplay fits nicely together
skillful combat
we need to fight almost every enemy differently
increased difficulty makes the game addictive
every weapon completely changes gameplay
every weapon has its own play style
armor affects the sense of weight
weapons weight drastically changes our speed
very simple gameplay if we focus on magic


characters polygons(model complexity)
background polygons(model complexity)
characters textures
background textures
effects and lighting
visual variety on armor parts
bodies remain in game no matter how far we move on
problem in animation when jumping


sound effects
ambient sound effects
good start theme
Conclusion - Rating

equal with the best games of its genre in
most sections


Lords of the Fallen is a third-person action role-playing game. The game has been compared to the Souls series, containing a slow tactical approach to close-quarters combat gameplay, with difficult enemies and locations to overcome, while learning from their encounters. The player takes the role of Harkyn, who, from the beginning, can be tailored towards the players preferred combat styles from a range of different classes, each with their own specializations in certain weapons, armours, spells, and abilities. A class is determined based on two major choices of three kinds of magic; brawling, deception, and solace, followed by the second choice of three different armour sets; warrior, rogue, and cleric. Different combinations of both choices allow the player to choose how to play Harkyn from the start. With sets, the warrior uses heavy yet strong armor and weapons, the rogue is much lighter and quicker, and the cleric utilizes staffs and armour that supports spell use. Magic adds to the variability of each class. For example, a warrior set combined with brawling magic creates a pure warrior with high strength and vitality, while a warrior set can also be combined with solace magic to create a paladin class that is not as strong but can specialize in spell usage early in the game. As the player progresses through the game and defeats enemies, experience can be gained and spent to upgrade Harkyns skills and unlock new spells to use in combat.
The game is divided into acts with hubs and nonlinear gameplay progression through a main central story, with new areas continuously opened as the player progresses while also being allowed to return to previously completed areas. However, each new area has multiple paths, hidden locations, and potential shortcuts and secrets to uncover. Along the way, the player will also encounter non-player characters who offer further information, lore, and in many cases, grant additional tasks to the player for more rewards. In dialogue, the player can also make choices with certain characters and their quests. The game utilizes a checkpoints system that the player must locate and can choose to use to save, replenish consumable items, such as healing potions, and upgrade their character.
Lords of the Fallen uses a "risk and reward" system when it comes to upgrading Harkyn. The amount of experience the player can gain for use can be increased through a multiplier that builds up the longer the player mixes up combo attacks or avoids using checkpoints and spending their experiences. If a checkpoint is used, the multiplier will reset. If a player dies during combat, they will appear at the last checkpoint they used but with previously defeated non-boss enemies respawning back in the original location across the in-game world and losing any unspent experience they have gained since they last spent any. At this point a timer will begin, requiring the player to return to the spot they last died in order to regain what they previously lost. However, if the timer runs out or if the player dies again before reaching this point, the unspent experience they had lost before will be lost for good.


comments powered by Disqus
Back to Top