Might & Magic 10: Legacy Review kukugames

  •  Genre: RPG
  • single player
  • Previous game of the series: Might & Magic 9



no emotional bond with the main character
speech should have been added complementary to simple text


many options give every player different experience
clear menus with explanations make gameplay easier
exploration opens new missions
good mix of races classes and skills
good map unavailable
loading should have been less
sometimes is hard to understand how to travel to the next location


opponents artificial intelligence
many difficulty levels
difficulty increases over time
exploration and gameplay fits nicely together
we are getting used to controls immediately
no time pressure
turn based battles with fast action
sometimes game completely freezes


characters polygons(model complexity)
draw distance
background textures


relaxing music
sound effects
no speech at all
Conclusion - Rating

equal with the best games of its genre in
many sections


Character Creation and Improvement
Players create a party of four characters, each of whom can belong to one of four different races - Humans, Orcs, Elves, and Dwarves - with each race having two male and female appearances to use. Each race has a choice of three classes to use - a "Might" class, a "Magic" class and a hybrid class of the two - with a class determining what skills a character begin with initially and that can be improved during character creation by allocating skill points to them. While characters can increase in level during a playthrough of the game, unlike previous titles like Might and Magic VI, characters can advance in level without going to a training centre and paying to do so, with each advancement allowing the player to improve the levels of skills known along with increasing one of six new statistics for the game: Might, Magic, Perception, Destiny, Vitality and Spirit.
Like other games, each class has a promotion quest, but only one. In Legacy, completing such a quest confers a benefit to the character for the rest of the game. However, only classes being used in a play-through have access to their promotion quests, as, unlike the previous titles, those belonging to classes not in use cant be accessed and are therefore unavailable.
Movement & Combat
The movement system in Legacy reverts to that used during the World of Xeen portions of Might and Magic V, in which players move around a grid system to get around the game world, no matter the location they are in, with time flowing when moving from grid to grid; the flow of time differs depending on whether they are travelling in a town/dungeon or in the wilderness. However, the game world featured in Might & Magic X is much bigger than that of the world featured in Might and Magic IV, providing more locations to explore as a result. Combat in the game reverts to a turn based system upon seeing an enemy, rather than real-time, with the party capable of hitting a hostile only if they are in line-of-sight before them (i.e. in the grid space in front of them). Enemies cant be hit diagonally but can be hit at range before they move in close to the partys position, which can influence how they move around to do so, while the size of an enemy unit determines how many can fit into a single grid space. While movement is permitted during combat, if an enemy blocks the partys way they must fight until their route is clear. Certain objects found in the game world can assist in battles by conferring a temporary benefit for a short period.
Skill & Follower System
The game utilizes the same skill system as previous titles, since it debuted in Might and Magic VI and was then later improved upon in Might and Magic VII. Skills are divided in the game by type - Weapon, Armour, Magic and Miscellaneous - while a characters class determines the level-cap of expertise a skill can go to, and thus how high a rank it can be, in a similar manner to that of For Blood and Honor; while minor skills can go no further than Expert, secondary skills can improve up to Master, and primary skills can go as high as Grandmaster, thus a character in one class may be able to use bows at the Master level but a character in another class may not advance any further than an Expert level. As with previous titles, higher levels of expertise require a character to reach a certain rank and then find a teacher to train them higher, however they cannot progress further in rank beyond the rank-cap of their level of expertise until they have received training; if a character reaches Expert level for a skill that can later be a Master of, they must first be trained as an Expert before they can allocate more points to that skill.
While the follower system of previous games returns, it reverts to the original set-up prior to Might and Magic IX, in that followers confer benefits to the party, but do not fight for them. Only two followers can be with the party at any time, with each follower bestowing a benefit to the party for the duration with them (i.e. improving their combat skills), while taking a small fee when hired along with a percentage of the gold whilst with the party. Some followers are associated to specific quests, and are thus unable to leave until their associated quest is completed.
Changes & New Features
One of the biggest changes in Might & Magic X comes from the setting of the game. Due to it being set in Ashan, the science fiction elements that have been the basis behind some of the storylines in previous games of the series are no longer included, yet references to previous titles are present in the game world for long-time fans (such as the name of the first town visited). Another change includes the use of a shared inventory space for the party, rather than characters each having an individual one like in previous titles.
Legacy also saw a change in the way spells are learned; characters must now visit a library to learn a new spell, and can only acquire a new one depending on their level of magic skill expertise in any of the following schools of magic their class has access to: Fire, Water, Earth, Air, Light, Dark, Prime.
Alongside these changes and the major ones to major elements, the game brings in a few new features. A toolbar is now provided within the game that be used to hotkey items, spells or abilities for each character, depending on how the player wants them set up, while a much easier quest system is now used that provides updates when a quest is progressing well. A bestiary is now provided that details all of the creatures and enemies encountered during a play-through, with the addition of a lore section that provides back-stories on events, places, history, and so forth. Alongside a range of magic equipment that the party can use, players can uncover Relics, special pieces of equipment which, when equipped to a character (some depending on their skills), earn experience as if a member of the party and can thus earn improvements on earning enough to level up.
The game also during opendev phase included a modding kit, which should allow fans to create or modify content in the game. This fuctionality was however removed with release due to requirement of function present only in Pro version of Unity 3D.


comments powered by Disqus
Back to Top